The Logistics of Incarnation

etims-online-celtic-fanzine

(Image from ETims Online Celtic Fanzine)

If this entry doesn’t make any sense, that’s not your fault – I’m not sure this idea makes sense to me yet, and I’m still working out the idea and the ramifications. The entry itself may not even have a conclusion; it’s more like me thinking out loud. Just so ya know.

About three nights ago, as I do from time to time and used to do frequently before resuming my spiritual exercises, I woke up in the middle of the night wrapped up in depression. It’s a feeling like having a bag over my head that’s tied at my neck. One way or another it keeps me awake – often just with the depressive thoughts constantly running through my head, or sometimes from me scrambling to find a way to fight the depressive thoughts off – regardless of whatever I need to fill my head with in order to do so. For the last few months that I’ve been working on spirituality again, I’ve tried to make the majority of those depression-fighting thoughts lean towards the metaphysical. It doesn’t always work. What I do in those wee morning hours doesn’t always make sense.

This particular night what I came up with didn’t necessarily make sense, but after an hour of depression and some indeterminate time of pondering a particular theosophical idea, I did at least finally get back to sleep. And I woke up to wondering exactly what it was I came up with.

I don’t think this is any kind of spiritual revelation. Maybe it is; but it was also a logical exercise in the ramifications of incarnation as it was outline by Jane Roberts in Seth Speaks. Simplified, Seth listed several aspects of physical incarnations:

(1) Time does not exist in the spiritual worlds.

(2) Since time does not exist, from the perspective of those in spirit, all of our incarnations, including those we consider to be in the future, are happening “simultaneously”. One incarnation can affect others.

(3) Lining up with quantum physics, alternate realities based on our decisions exist, and exist parallel (and “simultaneously”) with each other. Those realities can also effect each other.

(4) Each parallel existence is part of a single soul, like an oversoul, but also has its own distinct identity and consciousness as well.

(5) On the spiritual level, the oversoul is aware of all of these existences, and the alternate souls are all aware of each other. All communicate with each other. They are simultaneously many and one.

(6) The existence you are aware of as you read this entry is the one you as this particular projection of a soul are choosing for whatever reason to focus on.

(Dizzy yet? I know I am.)

I started pondering all of these things in the wee morning hours because I wondered if I could get glimpses of those alternate existences. Being in the middle of depression, I wondered first if I could glimpse lives that were “better off” by my definition than the one I’m focusing on, to see if I could figure out ways to do things differently. Failing that, perhaps I’d glimpse ones where I was much worse off, to put things in perspective. (The idea of trying to contact alternate selves isn’t impossible according to Seth – and it stands to reason that if some of these alternates are so close to me, some of them might be trying to do the same thing.)

Neither plan worked, at least not at the moment. But contemplating the above items got me wondering about what the physical body regards as death.

My family has a long history of communication with spirits, particularly with family members who had passed. But what this got me thinking was – who were the living family members talking to?  The oversoul of the family member, perhaps, or the soul whose identity was specific to the reality that the living person was focused on?

All of my grandparents are deceased, but all are within the realm of “It’s unlikely but not impossible that they’d still be alive”. (The youngest would be turning 100 soon.) I’ve communicated with both of my maternal grandparents after their passing – would it be possible to locate some alternate where either still lives in the physical world, and communicate with them?

More: My own alternates. I’d considered trying to glimpse an alternate me who was far worse off than I am. What if, say, that alternate me’s depression had been much worse, and he had committed suicide? Would it then be possible for me to communicate with the spirit of an alternate me who had died?

Based on what Seth said, any of those ideas could be possible.

The question is whether or not they would be, for lack of a better phrasing, a good idea.

I guess there is a conclusion here after all. It seems to me that the universe is infinite and infinitely creative, but this doesn’t mean we necessarily should pursue every avenue open to us. There are reasons these things are possible; there are also reasons why thinks like past life memories and alternate selves aren’t immediately or easily accessible. I don’t think sheer curiosity is a good enough reason for this kind of exploration, any more than I think trying to climb out of a depressive episode is enough of a reason to explore certain avenues. Seek out what is good, and right, and necessary – and, really, what is useful. It’s not that I think there’d necessarily be bad or negative consequences to any of this – just that some things might be diverting me away from other things that would be far more helpful and educational.

Still working on figuring out what those best avenues happen to be.

3 thoughts on “The Logistics of Incarnation

  1. Instead of more looney-tune sky-pilot stuff, maybe you should try the psychological approach to the cause of the depression. Instead of avoiding it, allow yourself to sink down into the depths of the depression as a meditation, and see what images and feelings are thrown up by the subconscious. Causes are usually hard-and-fast of one’s real physical life. Maybe you need another job. Maybe you need a wife, (or otherwise if married.) or other real life matters. Maybe depression is seeing reality, and one has to deal with that. Surprisingly, and superficially, in day-time depression just getting the body moving usually elevates the mind. Walk a mile and you feel better. The mind follows the body. Just some thoughts…..

    Like

    1. I don’t expect you to go back and read the previous four dozen or so entries that preceded this, but I’ve mentioned the external causes of the depression in several entries, along with the possibilities that they have a physical cause in addition to those as well. I went for years not “avoiding it”, and all it did was get worse. And yes, I already know that exercise helps, which I’ve mentioned in M&I before too.

      Got to say, though, I find it odd that a theosophist would refer to these as “looney-tune sky-pilot stuff”, considering how many people think theosophy itself is exactly that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

