Hard Times Come Again No More

appalachian-cabin

(From Panoramio)

I don’t have anything to report about any recent meditations and visualizations, because I haven’t been doing any. This isn’t for lack of trying, though. For some reason, my brain lately has been a lot more chaotic, bouncing back and forth between random or not so random thoughts in a kaleidoscopic cacophony that prevents even my solid Island visualizations, and never mind trying to quiet my brain enough to meditate. I don’t know why this should be – I don’t think anything in my external circumstances has really changed – but there it is.

While I had good luck remembering dreams the last couple of nights, overall most have slipped away from me. There is a positive here, though, in that what little I do remember is or seems to be more overtly tied to what I’m working on consciously.

I have two nice back-to-back examples from a few nights ago: Before going to sleep I’d been reading the portion of Seth Speaks where Seth is discussing our alternate physical selves and alternate realities – one of the early points where metaphysics and quantum physics met up and shook hands. This fascinated me and I was pondering the implications and possibilities of the idea as I went to sleep.

The first dream I had was just set in a nondescript dark area with the sound of buzzing When I focused in on the sound I realized that it was made up of a multitude of voices, all mine, all saying different things that I caught little snatches of here and there. The dream only seemed to last for a moment but I woke up and hour later. I went back to sleep almost immediately, and dreamed of another dim setting, with outlines of buildings in front of me, and long strands of dark rain falling. When I looked at the rain more closely I realized that they were dark from the color of words inside each elongated drop, and those words were each snatches of descriptions of alternate realities.

But the thing I’ve been trying to concentrate on in particular is to quit being fear-based. A lot of my spiritual exercises seem to still revolve around this whether or not that’s what in the front of my thoughts. I’ve mentioned before, for instance, that a lot of my work with precognition is to try to get warnings about bad things that might be ahead so I can either avoid them or better deal with them.

That in itself isn’t a bad thing. But my concern (or fear!) is that I’m centering too much attention on the negative. And this, according to many metaphysical belief systems, from Seth to the New Thought church I grew up in, warn that focusing so much on the negative can draw negative experiences to you.

Over the previous days I’ve run across the followings passage in Seth Speaks, and they has stuck with me more than most:

If you are also of a highly pessimistic nature, given to thoughts and feelings of potential disaster, then these thoughts will be quite faithfully reproduced in experience.

And while I don’t typically think of myself as someone with a highly pessimistic nature…

To dwell upon the possibility of illness or disaster is equally poor policy, for you set up the negative web of probabilities that need not occur.

…I am guilty of spending too much time in private, quiet moments fretting about the possibilities (or probabilities) of disaster. It’s like a continual feedback loop that I’m having trouble breaking out of. So what do I do about it?

My initial response would be meditation, visualization, and dream work. For the moment, though, the first two aren’t happening, and the third has been hit-and-miss. On the larger scale, I’m open to suggestions.

But on a small scale, I understand that one way to break a habit (including a mental one) is to replace it with another one. I can pray, and I can have mantras that I repeat to myself. This doesn’t require any great amount of time, privacy, or quiet. I can do them anywhere at practically any time. Another odd thing that came to me, though – quite on its own, I just started doing it randomly when my thoughts were beginning to turn negative – is to hum or sing an old Appalachian folk song called “Hard Times Come Again No More”.

Part of it goes like this:

‘Tis the song, the sigh of the weary
Hard times, hard times come again no more
Many days you have lingered
Around my cabin door
Oh hard times come again no more

Much of the song is sung at a time when the hard times are already there, but the singer is still determined to tell them to go away. You might say it’s like another version of “Satan, get thee behind me!”

That, I think I can do. Negative thoughts, come again no more. Fears of disaster, come again no more.

I know you can’t avoid hard times. I know you might not be able to avoid outright disaster. Those are just programmed into physical life, especially if you’ve picked an existence with any real challenges (and thus learning experiences) for yourself. But I don’t need to draw them to me unnecessarily, and if singing this old song can help push back against my own bad tendencies, or help to start pushing them back, then I’ll do it.

At the very least, it’s a nice reminder of what I believe I have the capability of doing.

Leave a Reply

