Dreams And Meditations: You’re Doin’ It Wrong

obrien-is-confused

(From Star Trek: Deep Space Nine)

I spent part of today reading Jane Roberts’ book Seth Speaks, and hit a passage that led to a bit of a revelation (or maybe more than a bit) flooding over me, and I decided to write about it here on M&I. I figured that was all I’d be writing about, but then a page or two later I read something else that I had a particularly strong reaction to of another sort, so I’ll make this entry a two-fer.

I won’t quote the exact passages that led to the revelation because they’re rather long and detailed. But they boil down to this: You’re dreaming self is just as real as your physical self, has multiple layers among multiple realities, and goes about a great deal of business that the physical self doesn’t remember except occasionally as pieces of dreams that might not make any logical sense. And then it hit me. Dream interpretation: You’re doin’ it wrong.

Well, not entirely wrong, but maybe half wrong. It occurred to me that all of my dream interpretation has been geared at figuring out what my dreams have to say about me, and by “me” I mean my physical self. Quite a lot have stumped and stymied me; some just seem to make no sense at all. But if Seth and Jane Roberts are right, some simply aren’t going to make any sense at all because they have nothing to do with my physical life. I’m connected with that Higher Self, it’s a larger part of who I am, but that’s where the dream connection ends.

This is one of many things in my life where, once it’s pointed out to me, it seems obvious. But then it begs the larger question: Knowing this, how do I distinguish what parts of dreams are about my physical life and which aren’t? And how do I explore the portions of my dreams that aren’t?

I don’t have an answer to that yet. There may be an answer in Seth Speaks, but I haven’t gotten that far into the book yet and this is the first time I’ve read it in about twenty years. So I’ll keep my hopes high.

But otherwise I’m intrigued. I feel like I’ve been shown a door to exploring those higher realities – if I can just figure out the number on the combination lock. I feel a deep compulsion to explore my broader self, and a great curiosity about it…though also impatience that I know needs tempering. I couldn’t have imagined doing these explorations again just a few months ago, so I need to remind myself that every bit I’m able to do is a gift in itself.

Which brings me to the second part of this entry.

The part that set me off a few moments after this revelation is short, so I can quote it here. In discussing situations where you shouldn’t try to explore these other “dream” realities, Seth said, “You should not embark upon an exploration of these nightly adventures if you are depressed, for at this time your own psychic state is predisposed toward depressing experiences, whether awake or asleep.”

That’s the part where I wanted to revolt.

I’m not saying Seth is wrong. I’m pretty certain that he’s right. And if I’d read this before starting on my explorations, there’s a good chance this statement would have put me off because depression was such a regular visitor at the time.

But here’s the thing: these explorations have done more than anything else in years to lift me out of that depression.

A big part of the depression’s message to my brain is You will always be buried. You will always feel like you’re being suffocated. Nothing will ever change. But doing these spiritual explorations proved to me that none of this was true. They helped open me up to things and realities I’d let myself forget about. They opened me up to the knowledge that this physical life is not the end-all, and that my consciousness does not end at the inner border of my skull. Yes, I did have some experiences in these explorations that in retrospect were born out of depression.

But again, at the most fundamental level, the fact that I had these experiences at all helped pull me to a great extent out of the depression. The content of the experiences was almost irrelevant. Their very existence and occurrence were meaningful. Their very existence and occurrences, regardless of the content, inspired hope.

So thank you again, Seth – even if we disagree on this one point!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

